About Us

About Us

About Cape Hawke Surf Lifesaving Club

  • Club: Cape Hawke Surf Life Saving Club – Lower North Coast Branch – Surf Life Saving New South Wales
  • Established: 1978
  • Patrols Commenced: 1979
  • First Clubhouse Built: 1982
  • New Clubhouse opened 2014


We are a Good Sports Club

Cape Hawke Surf Lifesaving Club was formally founded on 27th December, 1978 and affiliated with Surf Life Saving Australia in March 1979. At this time, Forster was starting to receive visitors from near and far, and many were flocking to One Mile Beach. There was a need for trained lifesavers, so a dedicated group of volunteers began patrols using equipment loaned from Forster Surf Life Saving Club and Great Lakes Council. At first, the club operated from a single small room at the rear of the current amenities block in Palmgrove Park.

Don Gowing, President; Ray Baker, Secretary; Greg Tucker, Treasurer; and Trevor Grant, Club Captain were the first officers on the executive committee. Our club was one of the first to allow women to become active members, and our first Bronze Squad formed in 1981. Our club has only grown and prospered since then, gaining an excellent reputation for our professional service and our friendly manner, including the carnivals we’ve hosted.

Past Carnivals

  • NSW IRB Premiership Round 4, 2017
  • NSW Interbranch 2015, 2009
  • 25th Anniversary Country Championships, 1995
  • NSW IRB Championships, 1994
  • NSW State Titles 1989
  • NSW Country Championships, 1989, 1985
  • NSW Country IRB Championships, 1986 
  • State Bank Spectacular, December, 1983 

Management Committee Members, 2017-2018

President - Gary Curtis
Director of Administration - Ian Reynolds
Director of Finance - Richard Ellery
Director of Life Saving - Greg Brown
Director of Competition- Jeff Horn
Director of Youth - Brendan Guiney
Registrar - Kim Hamilton
Patrol Officer - Richard Ellery
Chief Training Officer- Gary Curtis
IRB Captain - Richard Ellery
Bar Manager - Mark Lowry
Facility Manager - Paul Scott
Function Room Manager - Sibella Ellery
Board & Ski Captain - John Mansour, Chris Hunter
Junior Captain Male - Tyler Sweetman
Junior Captain Female  - tba
Boat Captain - Michael Yarad
Junior Activities Co-Ordinator - Natalie Kelly
Publicity Officer - Gary Curtis
Social Organiser - tba
OH & S Officer - Richard Ellery
Members Protection Officer- Paul & Kerry Scott
Sunrise Club - Geoff Tindall
Radio Officer - Norm Smith 
Newsletter Editor - Peter McTiernan
Gear Steward - tba 
First Aid Officer - tba


Share by: